The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument attempts to bridge a relationship between the fact that last years' birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago and the suggestion to reduce funds for education, sports and recreation next decade. However, on deeper analysis, there are certain important question unanswered and facts unnoticed, leading to a number of mistaken assumptions and logical flaws.

The argument assumes that because of a lower birthrate compared to five years ago the numbers of students in public schools will decrease dramatically. Of course, because of a lower birthrate, there are not that many potential students but this will not say that there will be less students in the future. The percentage of children who enrolled in public schools is increasing.

In addition, there are only numbers known of last year and five years ago. It is possible that last year and five years ago where not average. If this year was quite bad and five years ago was quite good there is not a proper reflexion on the current state of birthrate. Moreover comparing two years with each other does not give any details about a trend. There is definitely more information required to make a solid and reliable argument. In addition, there is only known something about one particular city. The situation in this city does not have to be represented by a whole country or area. If students in Calatrava are not only residents of Calatrava this is an important detail.

The paper also attempts to reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. In this case the paper suggests that only children make use of them. Recreational facilities like theatres, bars and cafes are mainly visited by adults.

To conclude, the paper does not make clear assumptions about the relationship between numbers of birth this year and the group of children next decade. Also the fact that they will reduce funding for recreational facilities that are also used by adults. The argument lacks information and seems to provide inchoate assumptions. The paper must have presented more concrete evidence about numbers of birth in the past years and have to be more specific in terms of recreational facilities.

Then, the argument would be more cogent.