The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The results presented in the summary of the study states a correlation between the increase in usage of salicylates in food, and the decrease of headaches in the residents of Mentia. However, there are some unsupported assumptions and flawed arguments that could diminish the conclusions reached by the study.

First, it is mentioned that the salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a commonly used medicine to treat headaches. Nevertheless, being of the same group chemically, does not assert that all the members of that group have the same properties regarding health improvement. Moreover, the summary implies that all salicylates are equally benefic to the treatment of headaches, when there is no evidence provided to justify this statement. If the properties of these chemicals proved to be different between themselves and aspirin, the claim that they help improve patients with headaches would be rebutted. Also, the author would have to specify the quantity of the chemicals used and if that number is significant to the problem.

Second, the author falls in a situation of a “post hoc” argument, assuming that because the food-processing companies added salicylates to foods as preservatives, and in the same time lapse there has been a decline in the average number of headaches reported by the participants of the study, they must be helping them. Correlation does not equal causation, and the average number of reports does not meliorate the argument by itself, one would have to look at the individual improvements in each patient, maybe some of them just got used to the headaches. Other patients could have found another solution for their ailment, while some could have actually increased their reports. Also, there is no mention of the period when the companies increased the salicylates and the results in that particular time, companies could have changed their policies, and then the argument would be refuted.

Finally, the new use found for the salicylates is no reason to increase their usage in foods, since the increase of it could be counterproductive in the flavor of the foods. Furthermore, the increase in usage of it does not guarantee that the results presented by the study would be continuous and steady, and if the decline stopped, this conclusion would languish.

In conclusion, the author of the study needs to strengthen his arguments by presenting solid evidence in order to invigorate his conclusions about the use of salicylates for headache curing in the citizens of Mentia suffering from this problem.