The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

The letter to the editor states a few important points, 1) Tufted groundhog population is in millions 2) Local interest to develop the coastal wetlands.

3) Eastern Carpenteria's sea otter population decline. There are several pro and cons to think about.

Firstly, Humans have a tendency to explore, and several people do not consider the consequences of doing so. The letter states that the tufted groundhog numbered in millions, according to te ancient records. But the statement is ambiguous, as the count of the tufted groundhogs at present could much lesser, or could be at the verge of extinction. Considering that fact, wildlife sanctuary surely helps the survival of the tufted groundhog and any disturbance to their peaceful environment could create an undesirable situation.

Considering it the other way, If the tufted groundhog are still numbered in millions, a minor development without harming the environment could be considered.

Secondly, the request on the basis of local interests to develop an access road along the edges of coastal wetlands, does not provide a clear idea, as to why they require a road through the coastal wetlands? Without a specific reason, a decision cannot be made.

Thirdly, a similar situation in the Eastern Carpenteria has shown a negative impact on the sea otter population. through which we can understand that, disturbing the harmonic life of the wildlife could lead to their population decrease. As in this situation where the exact count of current tufted groundhog is unavailable, to take a risk in that region's biodiversity is not suggested.

To conclude, the road through coastal wetlands of West Lansburg should not be built without proper details of 1) why the road must be built?

2) What is the exact count of the tufted groundhog? and 3) how will the development impact on the biodiversity?

Without specific answers to these important questions, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built.