The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument made in the newspaper editorial by the author is that illegal immigrants should be made to return to their country of origin. The reason the author gave is that both the country's economy and national identity is endangered if the illegal immigrants are not checked. Also since the autonomy of the country is based on the strength of it's borders, illegal immigrants pose a threat. The argument at first looks convincing, but on studying we discover a lot of loopholes.

The first loophole is that the author assumes the autonomy of the country is based on the strength of its borders. But this is just one of the many reasons on which the autonomy can be based. It very much also depends on the people ruling the country. Also what laws are followed in the country is another factor in autonomy. Thus there are various factors on which the autonomy of any country is based.

The second loophole is that the author assumes that if the illegal immigrants entering the country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity is endangered. But the author misses the point that the economy is not dependent on the immigrants. It depends on the people of the country and the status of the markets. If the immigrants later become the citizens of author's country then the national identity would not be endangered.

The third loophole is that the author assumes that all illegal immigrants pose a threat to the author's nation. But some immigrants might even contribute to their economy. People immigrate because they see a better future in other country and where they can be successful so if they are let in author's country it might be beneficial to them. Another reason why people migrate is because there is less scope in their country of origin.

The argument would be strengthened if the author provides some strong reasons and proof of those reasons on the basis of which he concluded that the illegal immigrants should be sent back to their country of origin. As it stands however the argument is flawed.