The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

The above letter to principal is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily the argument is based on unwarranted assumptions which are stated below in order.

Firstly, the first word in the letter itself shows that there is no need of the letter to be written to such extent. 'Last year' denotes that Kensington Academy has hired Swift Nutrition for the last one year, which shows only one complaint from a parent. The argument says that Swift Nutrition serves low-fat, low on calory food which is healthy for the child. The parent himself/herself points out the nutrients that are been delivered to the child in such quantity which is good for health. The parent colloquial shows that he/she doesn't want his/her child to remain healthy. This was the first part of the argument which was not justified.

Secondly, in line 6, the argument mentions that several of his/her son's friends did not enjoy the healthy food which they complaint the day before. In these lines above there are any unanswered questions which need to be accountable for. There is an assumption in the number of friends that his/her friends are. There can be as less as 1 to 4 or most as 20 to 30, which again leaves us to assume the total number of students the Academy has. After the data of the number of students in Academy and friends can we assume the ratio is less or more. By this ratio we can conclude the severity of the problem faced by students, additionally, we need to take into account any other complaints from other students as well. Just concluding on given data we cannot come to the conclusion of the argument.

Lastly, the parent writes in the letter about the consequences that can occur which does not validate at all. The ramification mentioned by the parent is that his/her son will have to bring "unhealthy" food from home and eat instead of eating from the cafeteria. There is a huge blunder which is going on in the argument. It says that student will have to eat unhealthy food which might create a problem. In fact, the unhealthy food can make the child sick. A parent never speaks in the ill-will of the child.

I conclude by saying that, above argument gives answered assumptions on which the argument stays invalidated.