The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, we predict that Happy Pancake House will be able to increase profits dramatically if we extend this cost-saving change to all our restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well."

The author of this argument claims that Happy Pancake Restaurants can gain more profits by replacing butter instead of margarine. To justify the recommendation, the author cites the following facts. (1) Running this plan in the southwestern United States causes only 2 percent o customers to complain. (2) According to servers' reports, customers do not complain, and this they cannot distinguish between butter and margarine. (3) This plan can be successful in other restaurants. Scrutiny each of these facts, however, reveals that none of them lend credible supports to the issue.

First, a serious of problems with the argument arises from the scant statistical information on which it stands. The author mentions that only 2 percent of customers have complained, so he concludes that 98 percent of customers are happy with the change. Nonetheless, if the number of customer in this restaurant was too low, the author cannot rely on it. In addition, customers in this restaurant may not be representative of the overall population of customers in around the country.

Second, base on the fact that customers do not complain, the author infers that they cannot realize different between butter and margarine. In fact, it is possible people can distinguish the changes in their meals, but it is difficult for them to complain and prefer to do not come back this restaurant. Without considering this possible scenario, the author cannot justifiably conclude that people satisfy of the use of butter.

In third place, the author provides no assurance that this plan can have the same results in other restaurants. The author must consider other factors, which effective in this success, such as the number of customers or even kinds of food they order. It is entirely possible, people who go to the south restaurant agree with use butter instead of the margarine, while the scenario can be different in other places. So, there is not the warranty that we can generalize the result of only the southwestern United States to other places.

In sum, the argument is logically flowed and therefore, unconvincing as it stands. To strengthen the argument, the author must provide more statistical information about servers’ reports. In order to evaluate the recommendation, we must know about all possible factors about other restaurants. In addition, it would be better to know other reasons that people do not complain.