The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

While the explanations proffered by the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants may sound reasonable, a closer review shed light on some of the other possible, even contradictary, explanations.

To begin with, the manager asserts that most customers are happy with the change, citing that the restaurant only received complaints from 2 percent of customers. It is unclear, however, whether the number of customers has changed. In this case, an alternative explanation is that quite a large proportation of customers dislike margarine, so they simply switched to other restaurants selling similar products. Therefore, it is likely that the change from butter to margarine has considerably affected customers.

Additionally, being unable to distinguish butter for margarine or using the word "butter" to refer to either butter or margarine, the customers may not complain when they are buying margarine at the restaurant. But without concrete evidence, this does not reliably accounts for customer's behavior. For instance, we can not rule out the possibility that customers use the term "butter" because they are used to doing so, and they are clearly aware of the change in the restaurant, so they think using "butter" will not cause confusion. It is also probable that many customers are able to tell butter from margarine, but there is no need to be that clear, for both customers and servers know what they refer to. If the two are both available at the restaurant, some customers might be more precise.

Last but not least, there might be a small number of customers who really want to buy butter at the restaurant. When offered with margarine, they tend to think that the two are interchangable, and it is laborious to find another store offering butter, so they take margarine without expressing any dissatisfaction.

In sum, the business manager\'s explanations on people\'s reaction to margarine at Happy Pancake House restaurant is not totally impossible, but many different explanations can be given based on the facts in the memorandum. We cannot tell which reflects the fact until further information is available.