The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station. "Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument is not convincing since it based on the unwarranted assumption that viewer and local businesses like weather and local news like it were before. Moreovere, less advertising contracts and viewer complaints are not compelling evidence to back this assumption.

The author assumes that reduction in weather and local news causes advertising contracts cancellation, but something else might have caused this event. Maybe local businesses face with economical problems, so they have to cut down the cost of advertising. The argument would have been stronger had it provided information about the amount of money which businesses spend on advertising and compare it with before.

Moreover, the author assumes that local businesses canceled their contracts because of lack of local program.This assumption leaves many questions unaddressed. For example, is a number of viewers the same? Maybe other channel programs become more entertaining that this channel and former program of this channel will not help this channel to compare with the other one. It would have been more compelling if the argument mentioned some information about the new contracts for those businesses which canceled their contracts. Are they make a deal with another channel with local program? or they just decided to make a deal with more interesting channel regardless of the amount of its local program?

In addition, the complaints received from viewers who willing to be aware of other states new, do not necessarily mean that those people like late-night program exactly like it used to be. Maybe they were not completely satisfied by former program too. It would have been more convincing if the author qualified the argument by adding some information about viewers' opinions and the amount of received complaints about former programs.

The argument has too many flaws in reasoning and supporting to be acceptable.