The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the co

In the passage, the business manager of a television station argues for two causal relationships. First, he argues that less time to weather and local news increases viewer complaints on coverage. Second, he argues that less time to weather and local news decreases local business advertising, and subsequently less advertising revenue. Finally, he proposes that to correct these relationships, the time devoted to weather and local news should be restored. In order to evaluate the validity of this argument, specific evidence is required. I will address this issue in order of the two causal relationships.

To evaluate the first argument, evidence for the independent variable (time dedicated to weather and local news) is required. This would come in the form of time dedicated to national news, weather and local news before last year and throughout this year, to show the decrease in time dedicated to weather and local news. There would need to be a clear decrease in weather and local news coverage and an increase in national news coverage to sustain his argument. Second, there needs to be evidence for the dependent variable, to show viewer displeasure over the change in coverage. This could come in the form of number of complaints concerning coverage, or the change in the number of viewers. If the number of complaints increased after the change in coverage or the number of viewers decreased, then his argument would be supported.

To evaluate the second argument, there needs to be evidence for the second dependent variable, local business advertising. This requires evidence in the form of advertising revenue coming from local businesses from before and after the coverage change. If advertising revenue decreases with the coverage change, then his argument is strengthened.

To prove both causal relationships, we would also need to prove that there are no other independent variables that might cause the change in the number of viewers or the amount of advertising revenue. To do this, we would need evidence to control for factors such as economic growth, viewership of other television channels and coverage of local news and weather on other channels. For example, if I find that the local economy is down, it might explain why local businesses are cancelling advertising contracts. This would put the validity of the second causal relationship in dispute.

In conclusion, to evaluate the arguments put forth by the business manager, we need evidence relating to the independent variable, the dependent variable and other possible sources of change.