'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the c

The memorandum lays out what the television station manager believes to be causing the decline in revenues. However, the manager fails to gather specific evidence that is required to substantiate his conclusion. Evidence must be gather into the effect of the complaints on viewership, why local businesses canceled their advertising contracts, and understand the original effect of devoting additional time to national news.

To begin with, the television station manager cites the recent complaints as "proof" that more viewers would watch if coverage of local news and weather increased. The manager fails to stated how many total complaints were received, how many different individuals raised their concerns about the coverage, and how many complaints the station typically receives. For all the reader knows the total number of complaints received could be very low which would suggest that overall the complaints are not a major issue. Additionally, even if the total number of complaints is large, the same few viewers could be consistently complaining, so in reality, their are not many viewers who are complaining. Finally, the typical number of complaints received would be useful for standardizing the complaints received in the past year to previous years. If the manager were to better articulate the importance of the complaints, his conclusion about increasing viewership by listening to the complaints would be more reasonable.

In addition to not providing an explanation of the importance of the complaints, the manager proposes that local business have canceled their advertising contracts as a result of decreased local news and weather coverage. However, the manager fails to logically explain how the canceled contracts directly resulted from decreased airtime of local news and weather. A possible explanation of the canceled contracts could simply be that the town was entering a recession, so local businesses had fewer dollars to spend advertising. Thus, those businesses would have canceled those contracts regardless of the coverage break down between national news, local news, and weather. The television station manager needs to articulate the cause of the canceled advertising contracts before suggesting how changing television coverage could increase advertising revenue.

Finally, the original decision to increase the coverage of national news at the expense of the local news and weather must be investigated. There usually is a reason for increasing the airtime of one type of coverage over the other, so it stands to reason that there likely is a reason the television station over the past year set aside more time for national news. A possible explanation could be that local news and weather were unable to fill their time with enough stories while national news had a surplus of interesting events to report on. This would then result in increased time for national news over local and weather. While the previous reason was more neutral, another possible reason could be that viewers last year were complaining about a lack of news coverage at the national level. Thus the late-night news could have augmented their coverage of the national news as a result of the complaints. Without disclosing the rational behind originally increasing the national news coverage, the television station manager does not provide the reader enough context to understand the suggested alteration to the news program relative to the previous change. Without the context, the reader is unable to understand how the proposed change could change viewership and revenues, and that context could either prove benefitial or determential to the manager's argument.

Overall, the station manager must better explain the significance of the complaints, link the television coverage changes to decreased advertising revenue, and articulate the original rational for originally increasing the national news coverage. By better identifying these factors' effect on viewership and advertising revenue, the manager would make a more convincing and logical argument for decreasing the airtime for national news in favor of increasing the coverage of weather and local news.