The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The business manager wants to restore the same earlier devoted time for weather and local news. His views are based on receiving most complaints regarding coverage of weather and local news as well as decrease in advertising revenue. But this argument has lot of loopholes and assumptions.

Most of complaints received from viewers were regarding stations coverage of weather and local news. But we dont know, whether these complaints came for less coverage of local and weather news, or incompatency of employees concerned with local and weather news. Maybe the team requiring to collect local news, aren't doing their work appropriately. They may have a dearth of local news. It is also possible, our weather broadcasting team may have given spurious weather reports. We just don't know.

Additonally, there is a probability that number of viewers for our news channel may have increased after we started broadcasting more national news. We may have gained significance viewers from our compitators. Our national news can be of utmost quality which have increased our viewers for our news channel. Yeah if the number of viewers have decresed after the given change, then we can ponder about the given recommendation.

We don't have any information regarding economic condition of the country. It can be possible that economic state of the nation would be in downfall, which led our local businesses to cancel their advitising contact with us. If downfall economy has to be blame, then bringing back earlier time slots for local and weather news wouldn't increase our advertising revenue. Unless more information is given regarding country economic state and also the business condition of local businesses, we can't push forward for the recommendation.

The argument is rife with holes and assumption, unless more information is given, it will be unnecessary to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.