'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

It is important for the viewers to have a good knowledge of local news as well as national news. A person should know what is going on around him and the country. But here if the television station increases the time of the national news for a year than it is not necessary that the local business companies stopped their program due to this. There can be many reason for this.

One of the main reason could be the television station may be out of news. So for this reason they could be showing a repetition of news. This could affect the TRP of the show. It is possible that they may be having some important news, but they were not able to present it in a manner one would like to see it. So due to the this decrease in TRP local business advertising companies might have thought that there is no point to advertise in the channel.

So there can be many possible reasons for the cancellation of the late night advertising. One of them could be, people generally late night would like to see some thing which is entertaining rather than discussion on some serious topics. Hence, the channels over attentions to the national news makes the viewer avoid viewing the channel.

However local news and weather news are important. But they too have to be represented in a good way that attracts the attention of the viewers. So a good combination of time management for the shows and good presentation of the show is important.

So just by restoring the time of local and weather news cannot avoid losing any further advertising revenues. It is just that people get bored watching some boring news all day. So for a change they might be complaining about the local and weather news but it is just that they want change. Late night no one would like to see news which they have been watching all day unless it is something important.

Hence by evaluating other possible consequences it cannot be guaranteed that by restoring the time devoted to weather and local news can attract the viewers and stop advertising companies from leaving.