The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The business manager's statement to advocate for the restoration of weather and local news to his TV station's late-night news program is both sensible and compelling. One would be correct to feel alerted when, in addition to complaints from viewers about the major change in news content, there also seems to be consequences from another group of stakeholders, the local businesses who is a revenue source for the TV channel. This gives the manager enough cause of concern to warrant further investigation. The suggestions below will give him a more comprehensive understanding of the impact from the program change, and it is highly recommended that more time is spent to understand the entire picture before the manager makes a decision on whether to restore the former time devoted to weather and local news. Throughout his investigation, it is possible that he finds the benefits of the change towards more national news reporting outweigh the reprecussions he evidenced in the statement.

First, it is worth invetigating the complaints received from viewers. Are these complaints broad-based, or do they come from a narrow group of dissenters while the population-at-large is contented with the shift towards national news coverage? Anytime there is a major change, there will almost always be proponents and critics, and the information that the business manager lacks here is the views of the proponents. To consider both sides, the business manager can do a survey with a sample size representative of their viewership, and ask the survey participants specifically on how they feel about the programming shift. In addition, the business manager can also look into current viewership statistics and compare them to one year ago. Has late-night viewership gone up? If it has, that would be inconsistent with the complaints he received about the lack of weather and local news coverage, as it would seem that the national news is attracting more viewers. In that instance, it may be that the critics of the change - while loud in their claims - is not representative of the entire viewership of the station and thus their suggestion should not be given as much weight.

Second, the manager should look into the reason that local businesses have cancelled their advertising contract, and also determine whether this is ultimately a problem for the station. In the case that viewership has increased and broadened - say, people in other areas of the country now tune-in to the late night news in this channel because national news coverage is more relevant to them than local news and weather - it may be that the TV station's business model automatically increased advertising costs in proportion to viewership, and the small businesses can no longer afford to advertise on the channel. This would still be a legitimate concern if the TV station is unable to fill up their advertising slots; however, it would make sense that the increased viewership would increase advertising interest from national and international companies. Another explanation for the cancelled advertising contract could simply be that the local or broader economy has suffered a downturn in the most recent year, and local businesses are focused on cutting costs in areas such as advertising. In the case of changing economic conditions, restoring the channel back to its former coverage will not bring the advertising revenue from these local businesses back. The argument would make sense only if local businesses state that they have cancelled their advertising contracts because the TV station is no longer attracting their target customers, and also if the revenue from local business advertising cannot be supplanted by national or international brands advertising on the channel.

As the business manager for a TV station, he or she is simply doing his or her job when expressing these new concerns. However, the most crucial part of making an informed decision is to have an informed view. Thus, I would suggest that more specific evidence that the shift in their programming has been harmful is needed before a decision is made to restore the channel back to its former coverage.