The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While it is true that the television station to reform the programs to attract more viewers and advertising contracts, the business manager's dicision to expand the coverage of weather and local news is based on several ungrounded assumptions.

To begin with, as the time for weather and local news decreases, viewers still complaints a lot about it. Based on this evidence, the manager assumes that people are disatisfied because the programs are not sufficient. However, this assumption can be wrong. Several factors can contribute to people's attitudes towards the programs. For example, people may find that the weather forecast is not precise enough, cauing lots of trouble to people's daily life, or that the local news are large impertinent to the community life, so they are simply valueless. It is prudent for the business manager to conclude that the TV station should cover more weather and local news to win viewers until the complaints collected from viewers are carefully analysed.

Secondly, the manager's argument on the decreasing advertising contracts is also flawed. The manager believes that the TV station is losing contracts because of the increased time to national news. But no concrete evidence have been given to link the two. It is likely that the price for advertising is overwhelmingly higher compared to other TV stations in the area, driving the companies to other stations. If this, or any other reason were true, the expansion in whether and local news would not reverse the declining revenues of advertising.

Last but not least, it is not adequate to expand the coverage of weather and local news on all the news programs of the TV station. It might be true that many viewers are expecting local news, but this does not necessarily mean that national news are not welcomed by all the customers. That is to say, the manager should realize that the people complaining may only represents a small group of viewers. Arguably, the high proportion of complaints on weather and local news could be attributed to the unsatisfaction from viewers who favor these program formats, whereas those interested in national news are quite satisfied, so the TV station receive few complaint from them. Thus, it is crucially important for the TV station to understand the preferences of all the viewers.

In conclusion, it is definitely imperative for the TV station to make changes, but the current policy of the manager is based on unwarranted assumptions, making it far from possible to increase the revenues and the number of viewers.