The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The given meorandum from the business manager of the television station talks about his or her plan to restore the late-night news program to weather and local news from national news. The reasons he or she gave behind this proposal are firstly, increase of number of complaints regarding the coverage of weather and local news, and secondly, the decline of revenues from local advertisement. Though the manager has provided these reason but there are certain information missing which is not making his reasons behind the proposal a strong one.

Firstly, the manager apprise us about the augmentation of number of complaints regarding the weather and local news. But there is no information regarding the content of the complaints those are recieved by them. Is it related to the timing of the weather and local news that has been shifted from late-night or it is about the content of those news that are broadcasted during day-time? It could be possible that the news content is not good and viewers are complaining about that. There is no such information given by the manager to solve this conundrum. If the manager could confirm that the complaints are indeed related to the broadcast timing then his proposal could be more logical.

Secondly, the manager tells us that the number of adverisement contract from local business entities has curtailed. But the information given here is too little to come with the conclusion that it happended due to the the late-night news content. It could be possible that local business persons does not find showing their advertisement during late-night shows profitable for them due to the less number of viewer. There are other possiblities also which can explain this decline of revenue from local advertisement. If the manager could apprise us that it is only the content of the news that is being broadcasted during the late-night is responsible for fall of revenues from advertisement contracts then his or her proposal could be more credulous for us.

Thirdly, the manager is giving us the plan for the restoration of weather and local news timing to its formar level. But there is not information regarding why this plan will be able to tackle the current problems faced by the television station. If he or she could provide lucid reasoning towards his restoration plan, his proposal could be more stronger.

Due to the above stated reasons like insufficent information regarding the viewers complaints, firm reason for declination of revenues and the proof of concept behind the restoration plan, the proposal does not hold a strong position of acceptance. There should have more details given to bolster the proposal given by the manager.