The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station

Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

The writer of this memo has suggested to restore the time slot for weather and local news in his channel based on weak and vague issues. He has also mentioned that most of the complaints received from the viewers were focused on local news coverage and weather report which clearly eliminates the assumption that viewers were uninterested in national news. Hence the idea of reducing the time slot for national news in unwelcoming.

In his statement, the manager has quoted that the local advertisers have just cancelled their contract, indicating that the advertisers were intact till recently with the channel. Thus it is highly unlikely that the advertisers dissolved their relationship with the channel because of the reduced time devotion to the local news as the speaker claims. Moreover, Arriving at a conclusion to a long term amendment based on a recent event is evidently showing the flustering attitude of the manager towards a problem.

The writer has also mentioned that more viewers can be attracted if the changes mentioned were accomplished. But, in the beginning of the passage, he has only mentioned about the number of complaints from the viewers and not about the quantity of the viewers. Thus, again it is highly uncertain to claim to gain more number of viewers by restoring the previous time pattern. Also the chances of losing good quality of viewers who watch national news, is beaming high.

To sum-up, the speaker's decision of changing the existing time schedule due to ignoble reasons is amorphous when the predictions he claims are concerned. Instead of restoring the former time slots the writer can consider extending the entire program time there by leaving more room for the advertisers and the viewers of both local and national news