The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

One assumption made by the author is that, he assumes that the local businesses have cancelled their contracts due to the less time devoted to weather and local news. Whiles this is a possibility, there is no concrete proof. If for instance the businesses advertise on the weather and local news and due to the less time devoted to the weather and local news, the businesses have withdrawn their advertisement, then the author will have a strong argument. The author did not provide any evidence that the businesses advertise on weather and local news. The author however fails to assume that there are other possible reasons why the businesses have cancelled their advertisement. There is a possibility that the businesses are not doing well and as a result cannot afford to fund the advertisements. This will weaken the author’s argument.

Secondly, the author assumes that the viewers are complaining due to less time devoted to the weather and local news. Although this is a possibility, the author did not evidence that infact the viewers are complaining because of the less time devoted for the weather and local news. In order to evaluate the argument, we should not be in the position to assume for the author. He should provide us the information that the viewers are complaining due to the time devoted to the weather and local news. The author’s argument would be strengthen if he could provide us with the information that the viewers are complaining due to the less time devoted for the weather and news. However, there are other possible reasons why the viewers are complaining. For instance, it may be that the viewers do not like the presenters of the weather and local news and as a results, complain about the coverage.

Another assumption made by the author is that he assumes that the weather and local news are the only way to attract viewers. It is true that in some areas, the people are more concerned about the weather and local news, there are also certain areas in broadcasting that people also show more concern. If for instance the area in question is a countryside where agriculture is the main economy activity then there is a reason to believe that the weather news would be very important. Even if the weather news is the most important, there are other areas like music and movies that people have interest in. In this case, the television station can strengthen these other areas to attract viewers and not necessarily the weather and local news.

In conclusion, the author argument does not hold water and is based on certain assumptions which he fails to provide concrete proof. To make the argument reasonable, the author should provide us with the above the information that will provide substance to the argument.