The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

The letter contends that there has been a decrease in the number of viewers and advertising revenues due to a decline in the time of weather and local news programs; however, this statement cannot be accepted to be correct because it relies on a number of premises for the support of which there is not enough evidence.

First, the writer expresses that many complaints received from viewers in this time period was related to the station`s coverage of weather and local news. But there is no evidence that these complaints were as a result of a decrease in the duration. Maybe, they are unsatisfied with those programs based on the quality of the programs not the duration. Or, perhaps they have problem with the quality of broadcasting. Hence, a survey can be carried out to reveal the major reason of the people`s complaints.

Even assuming that the complaints were plausible and pertinent to the duration, not any other factors, there is another issue which can be inspected. The letter states that several local businesses have just canceled their advertising contracts due to a decrease in the weather and local news programs. However, there is not sufficient evidence for the relationship between the decline in those programs and cancelation of the advertising contracts. Maybe, the advertising companies have cut back on their advertising costs due to economic recession and intend to invest more on their staff`s welfare. Therefore, a survey shoud be implemented to uncover the main reason for the cancelation of the advertising.

Even assuming that the companies canceled their contracts because of the decrease in the weather and local news programs there is another problem which should be vivified. The letter states that they can currently restore the time devoted to weather and local news programs to increase their income; however, there is not enough evidence that by returning to the previous status they can obtain that amount of money. Maybe, people are not interested in weather and local news programs as well as the past. In this case, even by adding more time to those kind of programs there may be still several complaints and the advertising companies also keep their contracts cancelled due to lack or remarkable reduction in the viewers.

In the final analysis, the letter`s statements cannot be taken to be correct because, as it was shown in the body paragraphs above, it relies on a number of assumptions for the support of each enough evidence should be provided.