The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The manager of the television station have put up an argument in the memorandum that, due to less time devoted to the weather and local news, the television station is suffering a loss. The argument put forward is seems very plausible, but the argument have many flaws and thus the argument cannot be passed.

Firstly, the author mentions that the loss is only because the late night news program dedicates less time to weather and local news and concentrates only the national news. BUt this could not only be the reason for the dislike of the station. The author fails to mention the effects of all the other programs throughout the day. It may be possilble that, the channel is disliked for ll the shows it features. So the manager must also try to look towards all other programs before pointing out on one.

Also, the manager states about receiving complaints from the viewers regarding the coverage of the news channel for weather and local news. However, he does not mention the ratio of people complaining about it. If only five people complaint about it from five thousand viewers, then it would not be appropriate to come to conclusion that it is only the reason causing the downfall. Also, there may be a possiblity that only one or two of the viewers are unsatisfied and they may be complaining to the station repetatively. So the manager must see to scope and range of the problem and then try to find the solution.

Lastly, he claims many have canceled their advertising contracts during that program. But the program may not have to do anything with the matter. As it is a late night program, the company trying to advertise, may find that less people may see it at that time and hence they may find it less effective to advertise that late. Also, the channel may not have provided the services properly, and hence the companies may have decided to pull off the contracts.

Therefore, on analyzing the argument, we can conclude that the manager fails to bolster his argument well with sufficient evidences and he has not profoundly looked into the matter. Thus the manager must carefully examine the problem and curtail it accordingly.