The following is a memorandum from the business manager of WLSS television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Changes are important to maintain the wellness of a business. Sometimes these changes does not result with the best outcomes and because of our humanistic ways, we try to revert back to the old way. This particular business mananger believes that returning to their old programming schedule will bring the station back to sucess. It is important to understand that reverting back to the channel's previous state does not guarantee a second chance.

Why did the station alter their program schedule in the first place? The television manager did not state the reason behind their initial change. It could perhaps be that they were already losing viewers. In hopes of increasing the amount of people tuning into their station, they assumed that more people are interested in national new and disregarded the local and weather news. This television station might have gotten the idea from a different station since they were taking all of their viewers. If all the stations have the same program, people find themselves board and tune into any random channel for their news. However what might work for one, may not be sucessful for another.

With the number of viewers left, the station turned them away as well. It is also ambiguous to what the complaints were regarding since the manager mentioned that 'most' of it of it was about the local and weather news. What could be the other complaints? There is too much ambuguity from the station that leaves the reader unable to jump to the conclusion that the station just started losing their numbers post-change.

The manager mentions that they have lost contracts with local businesses. It is not uncommon for advertisement fees to increase over time. Perhaps due to the decline of viewers, the station started charging more for advertisement in order to maintain a specific amount of revenue. Local businesses are typically family owned and cannot always afford the costly fee of promoting their business on television. There could also be local new stations with lower fees or discounts to help the sucess of the businesses. There are countless reasons why the businesses ended their contracts and it probably does not have anything to do with the amount program schedule. Base on that, returning to the old schedule will not bring back the businesses.

The station's manager released a statement that was too vague to justify for a return to the old program schedule. There are an abundance of reasons why they have lost a substantial number of viewers and advertisement contracts. It is crucial to question and ponder what could have been the real causes of their recent downfall. Without adequate and supporting information, we cannot assume the manager's diclosure is enough reason for the station to return back to its old ways to be popular once again.