The following is a memorandum from the business manager of WLSS television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The author of the memorandum has assumed that since there is a correlation between complaints regarding the station's coverage of weather and news, and a cancelation of advertisments from local businesses, there is a causal effect between the two. This is not true. Association claims, providing as they may be, are not as strong as a causal relationship. In order to have a causal relationship a few factors must be tried prior to assuming that there is a link between the two variables-- that is, in this case, complaints/ cancellation of air time and the addition of national news.

Firstly, as a reader we need to determine whether the complaints were arriving due to the lack of coverage of local news and weather, or because of the amount of coverage of national news.We also need to investigate whether or not there were other complaints being recieved-- pertaining to different topics-- as well as the quantity of complaints recieved. Assuming that there were only a paucal of complaints recieved by the news station, it would be illogical to simply restore the time devoted to the local news and weather. The number of complaints, that is, the sample size, might not be an accurate representaion of the given population. The news station would need to determine whether there is a general sense of unhappiness regarding the addition of national news coverage perhaps by asking a larger sample size-- using methodologies such as surveys or interviews.

Before assuming causality over the situation, and restoring the time devoted to the weather and news, the news station should determine whether in fact there is internal validity, or in other words, whether a manipulation (addidtion of national news) is in fact causing local businesses to cancel their subscriptions on air time. Local businesses might be cancelling their air time due to another radio station being able to offer them a better time slot for a better price. We as the reader simply do not know, and are therefore unable to make a logical decision based on these facts.

As well, we are not aware of the amount of air time that has been dedicated towards the national news. In order to make a sound and valid conclusion as to whether restore the time devoted to the local news and weather, we need to have all of the facts pertaining to the matter. Perhaps the news station now only has a focus on national news and does not discuss the local matters. In that case, they should try to create a balance between the two. However, perhaps they only have devoted a small portion of their air time towards national news, but it happens to fall at a time in the day where listeners would prefer hearing music, talk shows, or local news and weather. By gathering more evidence, the local news station will be able to create a more sound and accurate decision.

In conclusion, there are many different factors that need to be investigated prior to jumping to rash conclusions and restoring the time devoted to local news and weather. The news station needs to determine if the addition of national news if causing businesses to cancel their air time, and whether the complaints are of a statistically significant value.