The following is a memorandum from the business manager of WLSS television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

In the given memorandum, the manager states that he does he wants the station to restore the allocated time for weather and local news to its former level. He suggests this because several complaints that were lodged in the past year were regarding the coverage of weather and local news. He believes that bringing it back to its former state will attract more viewers and the revenue will cease to fall.

The manager has based this decision on the assumption that, if he restores the coverage of these channels, the number of viewers will increase along with the revenue. But, the fact that it is a late-night new program, will hardly affect his company's revenue. These changes will hardly make a difference, since the number of viewers are already limited!

If we were given the number of people that viewed the show before the change, and after, we would have an idea if the decision were right or wrong. In case the percentage in number of viewers didn't change drastically, then the decision makes no sense.

Another major point that would weaken the manager's argument would be, if the number of viewers for the prime time shows showed a stark increase. In this case case, the advertisers would have cancelled their contracts to move to a better suited slot, and not as a result of the channel coverage.

The manager's argument is not cogent enough for the suggestion to be implemented. In order to strengthen his position and argument, he must provide evidence that the loss in advertising contracts was directly linked to the reduced coverage of weather and local news!