The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument stated here is that national aeronautics should invest their resources in unmanned space flight. The author in the letter is of the opinion that manned flights are costly and dangerous.He has even given an analogy that since they experienced success with recent unmanned space probes and satellites it is worth investing in. The argument at first would look convincing but when we dig deep, we can see a lot of unsubstantial loopholes in the argument. The argument is based on some assumptions which are explained below.

The first loophole is that the author assumed manned flight is costly and dangerous. The author has not provided any reason for it as On what basis have they concluded that it is dangerous? or What were the tests conducted? Who conducted the tests on manned space satellite? Under what conditions were the tests conducted? Without adequate proof to reach to such conclusion is waste, The author should have given more details to get proper insight of the issue.

The second loophole is that the author assumes that since the recent unmanned space probes have proven to be successful without the risk of sending men and women into space more investment should be made in unmanned satellites.It is possible that they were able to gather useful information because the unmanned space satellites was able to reach till there. But what if some places it is impossible to reach through unmanned space satellite and u need someone to control the satellite to reach a place and gather information from there due to some complexity.

The third loophole is that the author has just assumed the final results of a series of unmanned space probes. But he has not given any details on the number of total space probes occurring and the number of successes out of them.Moreover if some probes were successful does not mean all probes will be successful of unmanned space satellites. What if all the probes were to same place or similar places?

Is the information collected valid? How can u justify? If men and women are there on the space flights they could help in justifying the proof of validity but not unmanned space flights.

The argument could have been strengthened if the author would have provided details about the tests conducted to draw conclusions on manned space flight. Also more details on the series of satellite probes which were successful by answering the questions stated above as conclusion cannot be drawn based on just one reason. As it stands, the argument is flawed for the reasons indicated.