The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because instruction in the online programs takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow, and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased along with our budget deficit. To address these problems, Humana University will begin immediately to create and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni. We predict that instituting these online degree programs will help Humana both increase its total enrollment and solve its budget problems."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In this memo, the author considers the introduction of online programs as an effective way to resolve budgetary issues and attract more students. Although the argument may seem not groundless at the first glance, it turns out to be ill-conceived and untenable after its scrutiny.

To start with, the author refers to the fact that enrollment in Omni University has significantly increased after introduction of online program. Ostensibly, the arguer equals total enrollment at the university with the enrollment in online programs. In the case, when total enrollment in on decline, the number of students who has chosen online education may grow, but still it can make insignificant contribution to a total number of students at a university. Actually, for this reason, the author should answer the question about what was the enrollment statistics at Humana University last year before deciding to implement the same strategy or Omni University.

Furthermore, the claim that mere online programs will foster to decrease expenditures on class room spaces and dormitories is not compelling. For instance, if Humana University has invested a huge amount of money in order to reconstruct all dormitories and university buildings, then its amortisation costs may be dearth during several next years. In contrast, Omni University’s facility has come in dilapidation and require costly maintenance. Certainly, switching majority of students to online education will make dormitory spaces and class rooms less necessary, but it may give only temporary reprieve from this problem. Anyway, the whole university cannot abandon all its buildings, since some kinds of programs may require laboratory practice and in-class sessions, then Omni University may encounter the necessity to maintain its buildings again. Also, offering less on-campus degrees, the university may lose many students who were interested in this option. Thereby, the author should consider the fact that may be online programs development may have nothing in common with decreased maintenance fee for university building and it may have an opposite effect on enrollment of students.

Finally, the decision to imitate the strategy adopted by Humana university may give dissatisfactory results. On the one hand, having a competitor with solid reputation as Humana University, Omni University may lack popularity among prospective students. On the other hands, Humana University may specialise in more technical disciplines that require a lot of practise, and making degree programs taught online it may reflect on the quality of education, whereas Omni University is practicing education in social sciences and business where remote education does not affect the quality.

To summarise, the decision of the author to mimic the strategies implemented in Humana University may be unreasonable, because the author fails to consider several issues that are crucial for success of this change. The author should find out the true statistics for Omni University in order to make an inference about growing enrollment in that university. Also, switching to online education may not be effective strategy for resolving budgetary and enrollment issues due to difference in circumstances for Omni and Humana University