The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten.Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to

evaluate the recommendation.

In an attempt not to fall behind the rival Regal book store, the Board of Directors of Monarch Books believes that opening a café instead of the part specialized for the children, would stand in good stead for Monarch. Although the strategy of serving coffee might attract more customers, the author fails to give a cogent argument on such a strategy. There are vague points which raise several questions. Therefore, to illustrate the argument the author needs to address the vital questions.

First, the author needs to ask whether it is justifiable to eliminate the children’s book section, especially as the Monarch books is known for offering a wide selection of books on all subjects. It is possible, that elimination of the children's section undoes the reputation of Monarch as a comprehensive provider of books. Furthermore, the author cites a survey showing a decline of the population of the children under age ten. The national survey might not represent the situation of the marketing area of the Monarch book store. It is possible that even the children's population is increasing in the marketing area, while its national average is on a drastic decline. If these are the case the elimination of the children’s section would not be reasonable.

Secondly, it should be asked whether opening of a café was a successful experience for the Regal books to be emulated by Monarch or not. It is possible that the smell of coffee and other stuffs distract people from reading books and they prefer to buy the books from the stores that is not imbued with such scents. Furthermore, serving coffee in a bookstore might compromise the identity of the book store. Customers may go there merely to drink coffee and the tide of opinion may recognize that place more as a coffee shop rather than a bookstore.

Finally, if competing with the Regal bookstore is at stake, the author needs to ask what other options can be considered rather than blindly sticking to what Regal has already done. The directors can reduce the book prices, or make advertising through the town to absorb more customers. The directors can use educated salespersons to make a professional place for Those who seek books. Therefore, as there are lots of other options to play as a competitive edge, the author’s recommendation of opening a café may not be cogent.

In short, the argument is replete with several ambiguous parts. The questions, whose answers illustrates the argument, are unaddressed by the author. Hence, the conclusion which is based on such an inconclusive argument cannot be tenable.