"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author recommends that a greater share of budget of Super Screen Production Company must be allocated to the advertising. In order to support the argument the author shares results from a study conducted by its marketing department that shows that, even though the attendence for the movies has decreased, the percentage of positive reviews has increased. Therefore making an assumption that the awareness about good quality of movies is not able to reach the public. However, in concluding the author has taken assumptions which are not supported and left many questions unanswered.

To begin with, the authenticity of the study is questionable. Considering the fact that the marketing department is conducting the study and coming up with a conclusion that its budget must be increased seems questionable. The first question that must be asked is whether the study was unbiased?

Furthermore, it is not made clear by the study that what could be the reasons for reduced attendence over the past few years. Could it be that the public 's interest in the movies has changed? It is possible that due to poor infrastructure of the theatres, people do not prefer to watch movies. These questions are unanswered and if the author is able to provide answers that link lack of attendence to lack of awareness then it would support the argument.

The author argues that since an increasing percentage of people have given positive reviews, therefore there is no question on the quality of movies. However, this assumption is questionable in itself. The author agrees that the number of people watching movies has decreased and it can be assumed that from amongst that decreasing number some percentage have given a positive review. It is not mentioned what actual number of people have given a positive review. For example, the increase can be two percent from last years one percent of positive reviews, which does not conclude that the number of positive reviews has increased overall.

Lastly, there is no evidence that shows that, the current level of awareness amongst people about the Super Screen movies is low. And therefore arriving at any conclusion that recommends increasing the advertisement budget for creating awareness based on this assumption is unwarranted.

In sum, while the author has presented an interesting conclusion, the evidence presented does not provide enough support to establish the validity of the conclusion. Several questions regarding authenticity of the study, reason for low attendence of public, relevance of increase in positive reviews and present status of awareness about Super Screen movies remain unanswered. Therefore, the assumptions made and evidence presented fail to support the recommendation of increasing budgetary allocation of advertising to increase the public awareness about the Super screen movies.