The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The advertising director for a Super Screen Movie in his/her memo has presented a solution for the decreasing the attendance of the people in their movies. In order to have this claim he makes many assumptions such as the reviewer has given the positive reviews of their movies despite of their decrease in the number of the people to see that movie. He/she also assumes that the contestants of the reviewers are not reaching to the prospective viewers. The advertising director also assumes that the public is less aware of the good quality of the movies that the Super Screen Movies produce. And he/she suggests that in order to increase the viewers of the Super Screen Movies they should allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reach public through advertising.

The suggestion of the advertising director may seem to be correct at first view, but it is specious due to many fallacious assumptions made in order to provide a necessary suggestion for increasing the viewers of the Super Screen Movies.

The first assumption made by the advertising director is that the reviewers have given their movie positive reviews regarding their movies. The first thing to consider is that who are those reviewers? Are they a part of the Super Screen Production Company? Who consider there views? Does people really believe in their views? With necessary answers to this questions it is very much difficult to come to any conclusion.

The other assumption that the advertising director makes is that content of the reviewers are reaching the prospective people. The first thing to consider is that, Are the reviewers correct in grading the movies? If they may be correct then also it is not always necessary that the views of the reviewers should always be welcomed by the people. And hence this assumption that people are not aware of the content of the reviewers is fallacious. It may be the case that the people are well aware of the content of the reviewers but still they do not watch their movie. The decrease in the less number of people watching the movie may be due to the reason that other movie released on the same period of their movie.

The advertising director claims that if a large part of the share of its budget is allocated in reaching public through advertising then the viewers of the movies may increase. Consider that a large part of share has been share on the advertising and people are well aware the movie. What is the guarantee that the viewer's of the movies would increase?

Thus summing up the above points it seems that there are many flaws in the advertising directors assumptions and would be difficult to conclude the claim unless the necessary proven assumptions are provided which are stated above. Without any answer to the above stated questions it is considered as a flaw assumptions.