The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The writer has presented some facts and come to the conclusion that Super Screen should allocate greater share of its budget to reach the public through advertising in the coming year, so that it can restore its viewership. However, the argument is rife with holes and unwarranted assumptions, and thus, not strong enough to buttress the preceded conclusion.

First of all, the argument is based on a questionable assumption that positive reviews from movie reviewers is a strong factor for people to watch a particular movie. However, it is possible that people’s decision to watch a movie has nothing to do with those reviews. For all we know, people may have been ignoring those reviews altogether even if they have access to it. If this is the case, advertising about positive reviews may not take people to the theater to watch the movies. Also, the author has not given any information about the movie reviewers. People may prefer one reviewer over the other, and that the reviewer vaunting about the movies is not the one whose judgment sways people in any way.

Furthermore, there is no data or any information of the sort regarding the number of movie goers in the previous year. Given that, it is possible that the number of viewers may not have significantly decreased, and that there is no dire need to spend in any promotional activities. For example the viewership in the year before could have been 20000 and this year it decrease by 20. Significant spending does not seem justifiable for negligent number of decrease in viewership as presented above.

Also, various factors could have contributed to decrease in number of viewers attending the Super Screen produced movies. People may no longer be interested in the themes recurrently portrayed in Super Screen movies. There could have been a hike in the price of movie tickets and people were not willing to spend extra bucks on movies.

To recapitulate, there are still some unexplored avenues in the argument due to with the conclusion seems feeble. Increasing the budget for advertising might generate the desired results, but a detailed analysis of the aforementioned areas is required to come up with a concrete conclusion on the matter.