"The following was used as part of an internet advertising company's appeal to businesses: Furniture Depot employed our internet advertising company to help. Since then its sales increased by 10% over last year's totals. Furniture Depot's success demonstrates how using our internet services can increase your profitability. "

Describe how well reasoned you find this argument. In the discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the argument's conclusion. You may also address possible changes in the argument that would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

The appeal made by an internet advertising company seems to be a great deal at first glance but there are numerous flaws behind the appeal,rendering its conclusion and mentioning that profitability of others is solely depends on Furniture Depot success ,invalid.

First of all how could a company's success relates to others.There is lack of evidence that can determine how one company can help elevating the profits of other company .There is no co-relation between that and hence it weakens the stated argument.

Furthermore,there is a high possibility that the Furniture company might use some other means in order to advertise their products.For example: door to door marketing using salesmen,advertisement on television which is one of the vast source of public interest. Therefore,one can not be fully satisfied by the company's appeal to business.

However,the profit figures of the Furniture company increased by 10% over last year's total but we don't know anything about company's previous years turnovers.It may be possible that the company has a different name a year prior and might be very successful also and now it replaced its old name from Furniture Depot which people had no idea about and the company just wanted to make sure that people must be aware of their new name and same variety of products and therefore,people were already aware of it ,hence the company again was able to regain their profits in comparison to a last year's totals,leads to think over internet company's appeal one more time as it lacks evidence regarding this situation.

Overall,the Internet company's appeal is biased towards Furniture Depot profits and don't want to consider any other view point in order to demonstrate how using their internet services will help increasing other's profitability.