The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The application written for a small-business loan seems to be eloquent at first glance, but on close examination, it has some logical fallacies which may lead to the failure of its original purpose to apply a loan from the bank. This essay is going to list all the flaws and possible modifications it needs to correct its defects.

The application presented that the new jazz club is the only jazz club within 65 miles area and it will dominate the local market in Monroe. Admittedly, distance is one of the factors people will consider before they visit a club, but it may not be the only reason. Things like the atmosphere, the service and the ornament style are also among the key factors they will add to their consideration. Therefore, the first jazz club in Monroe does not guarantee the success, detailed business plan should be made, including marketing investigation, style of the jazz club and etc, to make the loan application more persuasive.

Also, the application listed several evidences to verify the popularity of jazz in Monroe. More than 100,000 people participated in the annual jazz festival last summer. The figure was just for one year and it could be an exception. It is possible that last year’s festival was the only one to attract so many people. Even if the jazz festival is as popular as explained by the author, most people who attended the festival may be tourists instead of local residents. What’s more, the highest-rated radio program may reflect local people’s preference for their jazz entertainment, which is cheap instead of going to a club. Thus, a survey regarding the preference of local people’s choice for jazz entertainment should be done. In this way, we can know better about whether they prefer to go to the club or they just want to attend jazz festival and listen to radio, which are more money-saving.

Finally, the nationwide study may not be sufficient to represent the situation in Monroe. We all know that the economic status varies from different parts of a country and the overall investigation could be wrong in some specific regions. It is possible that Monroe is suffering from an economic recession due to the dysfunctional administration. The economy will definitely affect people’s buying power and willingness, thereby affecting the operation of clubs. Hence, more data regarding the local economy and people’s willingness to spend on jazz entertainment need to be collected to further evaluate the plan of building a new jazz club.

In sum, detailed business plan, investigation on the popularity of jazz and data on local economy are needed to make the application more eloquent. In this way, the chance they can successfully receive the loan will raise considerably.