The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The given argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on unwarrented assumption that if nationwide survey shows, jazz fans spend $1000 per year on jazz entertainment, then people will spend similar amount of money in Monroe jazz club also.

The base of argument is Nationwide survery, but argument doesn't provide any information about how many people from Monroe area participated in the survery. There is no information in the argument about question in the survey, was the suevey conducted with the goal of opening new jazz clubs nationwide or it was just conducted to which type of entertainment people like more. There is a possiblity, people might spend more money on shoping online jazz music, and not going to jazz clubs. Thus, instead of relaying on nationwide survey, new survey need to be conducted with Monroe people only, with questions such as would you like to spend on jazz entertainment in jazz club, if opened in the area?

The argument is also missing type of activies new club will provide in Monroe, and are Monroe residents interested in those activities. Author need to provide information about how club which is 65 miles away is doing, are people from Monroe going to there and spend money? Even if they are going to the club, what is there attendance rate, do they come often or once in a while. If people are going they regularly, then will the new club can give same facilites in the new club also, which can make them switch from far club to near one.

Thus, in conclusion, autor need to gather more infomaiton about nationwide survey, before making any decision based on its resutls and survey need to be conducted in Monroe city with the goal of opening new club in the city and asking questions related to this topic only, so that it can be the strong base of analysis wheater new club will be profitable or not.