Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands had become extinct. Yet humans cannot have been a factor in the species' extinctions, because there is no evidence that the humans had any significant contact with the mammals. Further, archaeologists have discovered numerous sites where the bones of fish had been discarded, but they found no such areas containing the bones of large mammals, so the humans cannot have hunted the mammals. Therefore, some climate change or other environmental factor must have caused the species' extinctions.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The given argument asserts that extinction of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands does not connected with humans' activity. This conclusion is buttressed by several facts and evidences which are connected with the conclusion by unwarranted assumptions which will be carefully scrutinzed in order to give a comprehensive estimation of the soundness of the argument.

To begin with, we know that the extinction took place after the human beings started to live in the island. However, the originator of the argument avers that no evidences that the people's had a appreciable interaction with the mammals has been found. At the same time, the fact that no evidences have been found yet does not mean that they will not be found in the future. In fact, the Kaliko Island may have a plethora of data which probably will be found soon when the usage of modern technologies such as satellites and unmanned drones will be available for researches. Thus, the writer's assumption that no new data will be discovered is unwarranted and therefore should not be used as supportive evidence.

Furthermore, the argument claims that a numerous sites where bones of fish had been found exist but no site with the bones of large mammals has not been discovered. The writer of the argument surmises that only possible explanation of this situation is that humans did not hunt on the mammals; However, perhaps these sites are located on the costs or near them and local dwellers used to live by fishing rather than hunting. probably, people who live in the found sites were fishmen and their source of food was the ocean consequently, no bones of the large animals was found in these sites.

Besides, the argument concludes that some other factors may cause the extinction such as climate change or other envirnmental problems. The author tends to neglect other factors which he or she does not take into consideration, for instance, humans may take with them some animals which ruined local ecosystem and caused the extinction. Or humans' activity such as farming led to the death of large animals, in fact, human activites often hurt local nature and envorinment. The author's position does not pay attention to such factors and therefore does not give a comprehensive analysis of the problem.

In conclusion, the conclusion that humans are blameless for the extinction of the large mammal species who used to live in the Kaliko Islands is not supported properly, the given evidences are based on unsupported assumptions and therfore their usage by the writer is questionable. The argument could have been stronger had the author made more thoughtful analysis of the situation.