Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands had become extinct. Yet humans cannot have been a factor in the species' extinctions, because there is no evidence that the humans had any significant contact with the mammals. Further, archaeologists have discovered numerous sites where the bones of fish had been discarded, but they found no such areas containing the bones of large mammals, so the humans cannot have hunted the mammals. Therefore, some climate change or other environmental factor must have caused the species' extinctions.

The author of argument assumes that for the sake of the scanty evidence to support that the humans led to the extinctions in the 3000 years, the other factors such as the climatic or environmental issues can cause this incident. This assumption cannot be accepted as it stands; it rests on the series of surmises all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

The first issue with the argument is that the writer assumes that since there is no evident to demonstrate that the human had the direct contact with the mammals they did not over hunt them. However, it is an unproven clue; inasmuch as the lack of evidence cannot support this issue. For instance, maybe the new arrival humans had a specific technic for hunting which did not require the particular hunting tools. Or perhaps they used the ordinary substance such as the rope which the archaeologist have not yet distinguished it for the hunting purpose. Each of scenarios would present an alternative testimony for the hunting by humans which contradicts with the assumed claim.

The second issue is related to the sites which contain the extensive remains of fishes' bones. As the author asserts, there are some sites with the fishes' bones, but there is no spot with the mammals' skeletons. Thereby the humans did not hunt them. This is a shaky hypothesis since some feasible reasons are overlooked. One of these ignored and possible reasons could be the making handcraft or instruments by the bone. As a matter of fact, the ancient people had this ability to make a tool from the natural materials for their utilizations; besides, maybe the mammals' bones had these features to use for this aim. However, the fishes' bones were fragile for this consume. The argument would have been fortified if the author had concretely evaluated these inevitable options.

Finally, the author declares another unverified clue that the climatic and environmental factors could lead to this event. This testimony cannot be verified as asserted in the article since these factors should be so severe to lead this situation. As an example, the harsh, prolong and cold winter could cause this issue. As this condition is too striking and noticeable, it should have been submitted by the scientists. However, there is no statistical information about it. Moreover, the environmental issue should be as severe as mentioned about the climatic factor. Besides, these adverse conditions should have been recorded due to their severeness. As long as there is no clue and data about them, the declaration is trembling.

All in all, the argument is flawed for the reasons mentioned above, and it is, therefore, unpersuasive. It could have been strengthened if the author clearly examined and evaluated the data mentioned. Without this information, the argument opens to debates.