Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands had become extinct. Yet humans cannot have been a factor in the species' extinctions, because there is no evidence that the humans had any significant contact with the mammals. Further, archaeologists have discovered numerous sites where the bones of fish had been discarded, but they found no such areas containing the bones of large mammals, so the humans cannot have hunted the mammals. Therefore, some climate change or other environmental factor must have caused the species' extinctions.

The author says, that the humans were not the factor of extinction of large mammals species lived on kaliko islands 7000 years ago. The author has supported this by justifying that there was no significant contact of humans with mammals. Also there was of outbreak of any disease which might be oe of the cause of mammal extinction. According to him, the archeologist have found bones of fish been discarded but have not found bones of mammals in the area. The author has completely overlooked this possibility. Without considering this explanation, he has jumped to the conclusion that humans were not a factor in their extinction from the islands. There can also be a possibility that the humans hunted the large mammals for food, and disposed the bones as well so that none was left behind as evidence. There are many cultures that destroy the bones and all other parts of mammals. Hence, this could be a reason that there was simply nothing left of the mammals to be found by the archaeologists. Hence, this point taken by the author is not valid.

Secondly, the author says that, there is no evidence that the humans had any significant contact with the mammals. But, there is no evidence of this case. It might be possible that humans may have drive mammals away from their natural habitat. There can also be a possibility of natural disasters. Even mammals have been migrated to greener pastures. In search of food or good dwelling place. So, humans cannot have hunted the mammals. Also, there is possibility that humans might have intruded mammals territory and natural habitat. The humans might have also consumed all the eatable plants and animals and left nothing for mammals. The humans are encroaching upon their living spaces to accommodate their increasing population. The author has failed to address these possibilities. Hence, it critically weakens the argument.

Lastly, the author says that archaeologists have discovered numerous sites where the bones of fish had been discarded, and discarded by humans. And not by any large animals. But, still tere is no evidence for his assumption.

Finally the non availability of food and weather conditions can also be one of the reason for extinction of mammals. The authors must have collected the information’s of humans and mammals during that time. Many things about the mammals remain unclear due to which the argument cannot be justified. The argument can be strengthened by providing evidences about the archaeologists, the bones of fish dates back particularly to the time when large mammals became extinct ,clearly defining However, the argument in the current state that humans had no involvement in extinction of large mammals but the climatic or environmental factors based on the authors assumption is flawed.