An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The argument contends that in order to handle the vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should promote a new type of millet. While supporting the argument, the writer is based on numerous assumptions that cannot be taken for granted. Thus, further evidence needs to be corroborated to claim the statement.

Firstly, the author assumes that a new breed of millet high in Vitamin A indicates a perfect key to solve the deficiency of vitamin A. However, it may not be the case. The author is being cursory of the situation where promoting a new breed could backfire the current situation. There could be even more serious outcomes resulting from a new breed. Therefore, further evidence pertaining to the side effects the new breed could carry should be examined in order to firmly state the author's contention.

Secondly, while the author assumes that with the government subsidy, the farmers' work will be profitable, it is not conclusively proven to be true. The recommendation above states that subsidies will overcome the cost for the new type of millet. However, the subsidy could not cover the cost. There could be other consequences that is not to be resulted and to cover those results could cost substantial amount of money that the subsidy given is not enough. As such, more detailed evidence pertaining to the relatively low cost of the breeding of a new sort of millet should be corroborated to make the recommendation's decision.

Lastly, the author falsely assumes that the new variety of millet will be of high demand. The residents, residing in the nation of Tagus whose staple food have been millet, could not be willing to consume more kinds of millet because of boredom for consuming the same kind of food. Or, what's even worse is that due to the impoverished situation in Tagus, people could have emigrated to other places to evade the deficiency of vitamin A. In these cases, no matter how hard the government tries to promote the new type of millet, there would be no consequences. Therefore, the author needs to confirm the demand of the new type of millet before executing the decision.

In summary, the author's statement cannot stand solely by its current form. Further evidence pertaining to whether there are no side effects of the new type of millet, the cost of promoting new breed, and the demand for the new variety should be corroborated in order to contend as the way the recommendation state