An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the argument, the author stated that an international development organization has taken steps to fight vitamin A deficiency among the people of Tagus. But there are some loop holes about the recommendations, acceptations and supports of the government which are needed to be answered.

First of all, the author said that the international development organization has engineered a new breed of millet which suppose to be high in vitamin A for the people in the improvised nation of Tagus. But there is no scientific data that how improvised the new breed is. There is no comparison given about what percent the new breed is enriched in vitamin A than the previous ones. This makes the author's recommendation doubtful.

Secondly, the author stated that farmers would be paid subsides for farming the new variety of millet as the cost more. But there is no such commitment given from the government. The author made a strong assumption based on a nothing supportive.

Thirdly, the author made another weak assumption that the people of Tagus will surely adopt the new millet as millet is their staple food. The author has no statistical support here. As the Tagus people have no experiment with the new millet it cannot be said strongly that they will adopt it. They may not like the taste of the new one. Additionally, people may not bare the expense of the new millet.

Last of all, the author said government should do anything to combat the vitamin A deficiency. But there is no confirmation from the people of Tagus that they have or will adopt the new type of millet. Therefore, there is no proper reason for the Tagus government to promote the new breed of millet.

In conclusion, it can be said that, quite a number of important questions are needed to answer to support the author's recommendation.