An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The author of the argument concludes that government of Tagus should go for the development of new type of millet in order to combat the vitamin A deficiency prevailing in the region. To corroborate the conclusion the author has cited various premises;vitamin A deficiency among the impoverished nation, subsidy given by the government to farmers for growing new type of millet and millet being the staple food of the nation. At the first sight these premises seem to bolster the argument, but on meticulous analysis shows otherwise. The reasons for the failure of the argument are delineated as follows;

Firstly, the author claimed that impecunious nation of the Tagus is suffering from vitamin A deficiency. At first this seems to supports the conclusion but particular regarding the number of poor people in the nation and among them how many are suffering from this disease. It may be plausible that there are only meager people suffering from it. For such a cases it can be corrected by simply providing them financial help or food, there is no need of such a big in crop.

Secondly, the argument states that subsidy will be provided to farmers for raising this new type of millet by government. However, the data regarding how much the expenses for raising this type will be occur and what share of these expanses is provided by government. It may be possible that prices of growing the crop will be much more and government is providing only a small amount of these expanses in the form of subsidy. In such cases farmers will obviously refuse to grow the crop.

Last but not least, it is provided that millet is the staple food of the nation. However, it is not provided that people suffering from the deficiency take this food or not. Moreover, it may be possible that due its taste or high cost people had stopped consuming or purchasing it. Moreover, the dietary consumption of the people suffering from the deficiency are not provided. Which need to be changed, rather than changing the whole nation's diet.

To sum up the conclusion was based on the totally fallacious premises. In order to support the argument the author mus have provided some extra information like statistical data representing the number of people suffering from deficiency, exact cost of growing new type of millet and which food is consumed more in Tagus. Due to lack of such information the author's argument failed to hold the ground.