An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The statement given above is has many questions unanswered due to which statement becomes invalidated for proof.

Firstly, it is mentioned that people are deficient in Vitamin A of impoverished nation of Tagus, to which an International organisation has engineered a breed of millet. Millet being the staple food in Tagus for the people then how come deficiency happened. There is no mention of the reason of deficiency of Vitamin A in the argument. The deficiency should not be there if millet is a staple food in Tagus for people.

Secondly, even if we agree on the fact that millet is a staple food which is not having a high content of vitamin A in it, then why is it taken for granted that people will readily adopt the new breed of millet? Additionally, the new millet breed can differ a lot from old millet. New millet can have different taste, can differently react to bodies of people since it engineered and synthetically made.

People should not rely on the fact that if old millet is replaced with new millet then it will be the same quality millet which is of old. The new millet might effect many peole according to their immunity systems. Consequences can be anything.

Lastly, why the government of Tagus need to promote new variety of millet if there is a deficiency of Vitamin A. I believe that if there is a mass deficiency of Vitamin A in people of tagus then people must be aware about it, and people themselves wanting to do banish the deficiency. There will be no need to promote, if needed then there i no reason stated above why to promote when there is deficiency.

Henceforth, I do not validate this statement due to various unanswered reasons.