An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Engineering food to combat vitamin A deficiency in diets and improve overall health is a very noble idea. However, since this technology is still relatively new, the public may not be so enthusiastic about it. There will be a lot of questions raised and legal issues that come with it that could prolong the predicted results from occurring.

A major concern for the people of Tagus would be if the government can ensure the engineered millet are safe to consume. How has this been assessed and for how long have subjects been monitored? In developing this product, what trials and standards were utilized to determine the safety of this new breed of millet? Each organization may have different regulations, with some being more stringent than others. Also, if it's a new technology, there's not data on long term effects, i.e. the length of a human life. So what basis would this get FDA approval? If these questions remain unanswered, the Tagus people may view these health concerns to be more dangerous than vitamin A deficiency and be unwilling to consume the millet and results would, if ever to occur, be delayed.

Furthermore, if the seeds of the new millet cost more, the millet sold to consumers will most likely be at a higher price. While farmers have been promised subsidies, there is no mention of the Tagus people being given subsidies or any other government assistance. It is stated the nation of Tagus is impoverished so a majority of people will not able to afford the new breed of millet. If they can't afford it, their priorities for allocating money may go into providing a roof for their family over reducing vitamin A deficiency, hence delaying the predicted result.

Lastly, has the government and the international development organization tested if the engineered millet can grow in the same conditions as the original millet? Has the engineering altered the millet so it needs a different environment to thrive? Small genetic changes can impact how the millet reacts to weather, soil, water levels, and other variables. If the millet can still thrive in its normal environment, the farmers will be able to grow it and the nation has a higher chance of reaching the predicted result. However, if it can't grow in the same environment, the government needs to find new land to grow the millet on so that it is available and be able lower the vitamin A deficiency.

With any new technology, especially in food, there will always be some opposition. It is the responsibility of the government to ensure engineered food is safe, affordable, and available to its people. For the nation of Tagus, answering the above questions would help placate their fears of the unknown. They will be more willing to take the government's recommendation to consume the engineered millet and combat vitamin A deficiency.