"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

The developers of the C-Note claims that the jazz music club in Monroe will be a highly profitable enterprise on the basis of the local market, the popularity of Monroe’s annual jazz festival, and the rating of a radio program – ‘Jazz Nightly.' However, the basis of the argument does not provide sound reasoning behind the profitability of the enterprise.

Firstly, the author claims that the jazz club will have the local market all to itself as the nearest jazz club is considerably far from the city. This claim is based on the assumption that the people of Monroe are fond of jazz music and will provide the high number of visitors in the club. The author also forgets to consider the possibility of the opening of the new clubs that may share the market in the future.

Moreover, the author falsely correlates the popularity of Monroe’s annual jazz festival with the popularity of music in general population of Monroe. To support this claim, the author provides the number of attendants of Monroe’s annual jazz festival last summer. However, this data does not suggest that the jazz music is popular with the local population as it is also possible that the majority of the people of the festival was tourists and the count of local visitors was very small. Also, the data provides the information only about one year and fails to indicate the long term trend.

The author also states that the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is ‘Jazz Nightly.' But, the high rating does not suggest a significant number of listeners as it is possible that only a few number of people with the penchant of jazz music are the listeners of the show. Even if there are high numbers of listeners of the radio show, we can’t assume that the people will like to visit jazz club if there is one nearby.

Also, the author states the national study indicating that a typical jazz fan spends a large amount on jazz entertainment. But, the nationwide survey can’t show the trends of the local populace. It may be possible that the people of Monroe does not prefer to spend money on the entertainment.

Thus, the author needs to study more about the local market and provide the evidence that indicates the local trends of the people of Monroe to conclude that the jazz music club in Monroe would be a highly profitable business.