"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Several points have been put forth in the paragraph in favour of the statement that jazz is popular in Monroe. However, specific pieces of additional evidence is required to evaluate these points.

First, it is mentioned that the new jazz club will have a monopoly on the local market because the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away. However, it is not known how good the local jazz market is. In fact, the fact that there were no local jazz clubs to begin with can be an indication that the jazz market at that location is not ideal. Even if it were true that the locals adore jazz, they may not feel the need to attend such clubs. Perhaps jazz music can be easily obtained online and is simply listened to as an activity of leisure. In order to evaluate the success of a local jazz club, information regarding the locals’ willingness to attend must be obtained. This can be done via surveys or research of the trend in spendings on jazz related items. If the results come out negative, then it is unlikely that the club will be successful.

It also is stated that jazz is very popular in Monroe because over 100,000 people attended Monroe’s annual jazz festival last summer. However, the demographics of this attendance is unknown. In particular, it could be the case that 90,000 people were international attendants, leaving only 10,000 local attendants. If the population of Monroe is on the order of one million, then only a tiny fraction of locals attended the festival. This is no indication of the popularity of jazz in Monroe. For this to be a valid point in favour of the popularity of jazz, one would need to compare the number of locals at attended the festival to the total population Monroe. If the ratio of the two is high, then perhaps jazz can be said to be popular in Monroe. If not, then this cannot be used as a point in favour of building the new jazz club.

In the latter half of the paragraph, it is mentioned that several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe and the local jazz radio show is the highest rated one. The fact that well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe is irrelevant to the popularity of jazz in the area. Well-known musicians live all over the world, but it is not always the case that their local area has a liking towards their music. Therefore, this point is moot. The rating of the radio show also does not say much about the local popularity of jazz without additional information on the other radio shows available. Perhaps the other radio shows are so poor in comparison that the jazz radio show ranks highly in comparison, but in reality is it too highly regarded. Or perhaps in the extreme case, there are no other radio shows available. It could also be possible that only people who like listening to jazz are inclined to provide ratings for the show. If any of these are true, then the popularity of the radio show cannot be used as evidence for the popularity of jazz in Monroe. One needs to obtain information on other radio programs for comparison.

Finally, it is said that a nation wide survey indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to 1000 dollars annually on jazz equipment. A nation wide survey, of course, does not reflect local interests. If Monroe is a city with a relatively small population, then their interest in jazz, if any, will not be reflected in the survey. Thus, the information from the survey cannot be used as direct justification for local interests in jazz. One would have to conduct a local survey in order to obtain a more representative view.

As we have seen from above, the argument presented for the construction of a new jazz club in Monroe is very lacking. Many pieces of evidence are required to evaluate the argument. From the information provided solely in the paragraph, it is unlikely that the loan would be given.