Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.

The author asserts that countries should invest their resources in unmanned space flights because of the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites which have shown that a great deal of valuable information can be a collected without the costs and risks involved in sending men and women into space. However before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, is it possible that the author is comparing manned space flights, which were being sent into space in the past to that in recent times, regarding the cost? Maybe the manned space flights were more expensive earlier on, hence it cost countries a fortune. Whereas, the unmanned space flights may have seemed cheaper owing to the increase in number of space flights in recent times. However, perhaps the charges in the past may not be the same as in recent times. It is probable, that back in the days when the space flights went into space, there were not as many manned space flights as there are nowadays, hence the reason for the high expenditure. If the above mentioned scenarios are true then the argument does not hold water

Second of all, the passage states, unmanned space flights have exhibited that relevant information can be gathered at no cost and is risk free with regard to sending humans into space. The author's disposition is vague regarding the unmanned flight acquiring useful information. Maybe, there may have been some sort of technology or robot which was used to acquire these information, which perhaps may have cost much more than sending men and women into space. Furthermore, these machines or technology which might have been used will definitely require maintenance over time, whereas humans will not need to be maintained, rather will only have to rest which basically will be at little to no cost as compared to the machines. If the above stated is true and valid, then the original argument is significantly weakened.

Thirdly, what if the data accumulated by the unmanned space probes and satellites is not adequate? Perchance, the data gotten would have been much more sufficient if a manned space flight was sent with humans into space, because these probes and satellites have probably been programmed to work in a certain way. Nevertheless, perhaps with humans there is no such thing as being programmed to function in a particular way, hence they take cognizance and are wary of everything that they notice. If the above stated events, is correct, then the argument by the author is not valid.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. if the author is able to answer the three questions and provide more evidence then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation.