Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculation, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

The argument states that we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered even if many lives might be saved if these inoculations are routinely administered to all people in area where disease is detected as there is a small chance that a person will die as a result of the inoculations. This argument is has reasons which can be held invalid.

The first flaw in this argument is lack of vital information to strengthen the conclusion. The argument states that a person will die as a result of inoculations but does not provide any data to prove that premise. There might be some different factors along with inoculations which may be lethal for a person who has contracted this disease. For example, it could be the immune system of a person, the environment in which the person lives, quality of administered inoculation, the process of administering the inoculation etc. The argument states no such factor.

Secondly, this argument generalizes the conclusion based on a very small sample. If a small group of people died after being administered with inoculations, it does not prove that each and every person who will be administered with this inoculations will be dead. It should examine a large sample from different examples of people who were given this inoculation and construct the conclusion based on those examples.

Another flaw in this argument is lack of benchmark. The argument states that inoculations could be lethal for a person but there is no way to compare this conclusion with a studied phenomenon which has a large set of evidences supporting this conclusion. The conclusion is weak as it does not have back up data to for support.

Lastly, it outweighs the positive results of administering the inoculations by a paltry amount of negative results which cannot represent whole sample.

As a whole, this argument does not sound convincing and requires various evidences from different environmental, social, profound research based and demographical contexts to build up the conclusion that will strengthen the argument.