Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flue to be routinely administered.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the passage, inoculations as a means to fight against cow flu, depite the benefit of saving a considerable amount of lives, should not be administered because of their potential deleterous effect. The author presents several key flaws that make this argument untenable and should review it in consideration of the following points.

One of the major shortcomings of the argument involves the claim that many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered. Stated this way, we are unable to assess the effectiveness of the inoculations as the phrase "many lives" remains ambiguous. In order to address this flaw, the author should include statistical data to demonstrate, say, the probability of the inoculations saving lives.

Another flaw of the passage is that the author assumes that a small possibility that the inoculations can kill a person outweighs the possibility of the person dying as a result of the cow flu. From the statement alone, however, it is impossible to assess whether this holds true. To illustrate, if the probability of the disease killing a person is 99% as opposed to a 0.01% chance of the inoculations ending the same person's live, it appears more sound to administer the inoculations based on the higher probability of saving the live. Had the author provided this type of relevant information, it would considerably strengthen his or her argument.

Lastly, the author's use of the word "routinely" lacks clarity, rendering the argument unconvincing. In the case of the first sentence, we simply do not know how often constitutes "routinely" and this undefined word could significantly alter the number of lives that the inoculations can save if this practice were to be implemented as it stands. Similarly, as for the second sentence, if the inoculations proved to be completely effective and benign if administered once a year, the author's concern would not be the reason not to implement this strategy. It would be advisable for the author, then, to clarify this key word that his or her argument heavily higes upon.

In conclusion, while the argument is not entirely invalid, it is rife with flaws that require a careful examination. Had the author considered the aforementioned points, the argument could be significantly boltered.