Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author mentions that inoculations against cow flu are routinely required in areas affected by cow flu but should not be permitted as they have a small probability of being deleterious for humans.The statement is very brief and requires details in multiple avenues to be a thorough review on the same. The assumption made in the statement must be strengthened with the help of supporting evidence.

The first point to be elaborated on is the relationship between the death of a person and inoculations administered. A scientific reason must be involved, explaining the reason and chances of such a harmful effect occurring on an individual.There might have been another reason for the death which may not have been noticed. Moreover the author suggests many lives might be saved but it is hard to infer what exactly is the number or proportion represented by the word 'many'.

The small possibility that a person may die due to the inoculation may be because of the frequency in dosage. If however the dosage is reduced or not so frequent it may not be so harmful. Better statistics with a varied and completely representational sample from the history may be used to support the statement. For example, numbers illustrating the probabilities of either saving the life or resulting in death could be mentioned.

Furthermore the explanation about how effective the inoculations are against cow flu in humans must be provided. It would increase the credibility of the author's argument. The author must be able to quantify the effects of the disease and the the potential for disastrous outcome of the vaccine.

To sum up, the author's argument cannot be considered invalid, however it does require a more thorough explanation to support the decision made. The discontinuity in the statement can be justly put forward to strengthen it.