Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

At first glance, the argument makes sense that since there is possibility of death, inoculations shouldn't be routinely admisitered. However the author relies on many unstated assumptions which make little sense logically.

The biggest flaw is author's reasoning is that author assumes,without providing proof that there is direct causal relationship between a person receiving the cow flu vaccine shot and his/her death. There is a strong possiblity that the patient's death was a result of a different psyological factor. It might be also possible that out of a million inoculation only his/her body reacted strongly to the vaccine due to presence of mutated gene in his/her body. Remanding the vaccine and rejecting the vaccine completly, especially when it can save countless lives make little sense.

The argument states that person can die as a result of the inoculation, but provides no information about how this side-effect was disocvered. All vaccines go through a extensive testing both on animals and humans before getting approval from FDA for selling in the market. If this side-effect was discovered after the vaccine was out, it might be very well be because it was a bad batch. If this is so, then while loss of life while tragic it is, deeming the vaccine unsafe for the others will cause nothing but more suffering.

Given that we don't know answers to these questions, the argument goes beyond the data in asserting that inoculations against cow flu shouldn't be routinely administered. There needs to be special study to revalute the inoculation shot medicine and based on its results one should decide whether or not the inocultations should be perfomed routinely or not.