Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Before the statement can be regarded as true, there are parts of the statement that need to be re-visited,and the evidence in which this statement is based on must also be explored.

The first sentence states that , "many lives MIGHT be saved....". The usage of the word, might calls for uncertainty. It is here where more research must be done. A large-scale campaign for inoculation could not and would not proceed unless the evidence of efficacy was sound. Before this campaign would even be marketed, there needs to be a study to test whether these particular inoculations against cow flu are in fact 'life-saving'. Questions to ask during experimentation: (1) How deadly is the disease? (2) Are these inoculations necessary? or (3) Are there less controversial and more easier preventative measures available? (4) Are there any side effects that come along with the inoculation?If these inoculations were deemed to be necessary, safe, and guaranteed to be 'life-saving' than this statement and this campaign could follow through. However, it is not worth inoculating hundreds or even thousands of people without sound evidence. I

Again, in the first sentence, it states, "to all people in areas where the disease is detected." This statement cannot be rendered as true without understanding the context of the inoculation as well as the nature of the disease. Questions to answer before moving forward: (1) Why inoculate only those in the detected areas? (2) How does the disease spread? (3) Is it necessary to inoculate all people or just those in close contact with the disease? (4) Is this the only preventative measure that can be executed? The study of the disease, its spread, its effect on humans and its surrounds are necessary to validate this statement.

In the second sentence, it states. "there is a SMALL possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations". Where is the evidence that proves this? Where is the evidence that proves this? This study would need to be further looked into. How was this study done? Was it executed by a credible source? Was it reviewed by several experts? Was their a big enough sample size? and the big question is what exactly is the chance of death with this inoculation?

The second analysis of this statement, on a more sociopolitical standpoint, is to explore the decision-making process to not permit this inoculation. Who decided to on this decision to not give anyone a 'life-saving' inoculation, who is the "we" in the statement? What do the population affected feel about this decision? What are their opinions of the risk factor that inoculation has? The statement could be totally disregarding the general public, however there is not enough evidence to prove otherwise. Clarification of the social context is needed.

If in fact, this research validated that this inoculation was necessary and its usage was discussed amongst all stakeholder groups, it would strengthen and uphold the statement. However, the statement is completely weakened by its lack of evidence and context. Knowing this research information would help make a better decision on how to move forward in combating this disease.