"For many years the city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. The symphony has also announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. Given such developments, some city commissioners argue that the symphony can now be fully self-supporting, and they recommend that funding for the symphony be eliminated from next year's budget."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that commissioners of symphony concert have decided not to allocate budget to this program owing to the fact that they want to raise ticket price and symphony could be self-supporting. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which some critical, yet ignored question need to be addressed.

First, the author contends that contributions and attendances both increased dramatically at the concert during last year. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since a question that might arise is whether the population growth is increasing day in day out since last year. One point that should be considered is that maybe vast majorities of the population have lived in that region during last year and then immigrate to other cities. Indeed, what if the population decrease over time? It is also important to say that maybe private contributions decide to invest their money on the other realm like movies and cinema, sports, education and so forth. In this situation, the symphony concert will definitely need the annual budget.

The author also asserts that the symphony concert will increase the ticket price next year. Although it might seem tenable at a face, it has some defects since you can always ask this question if people are satisfied and pay more money for the concert. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that maybe people be on a tight budget because of inflation or economic recession and do not be able to pay too much money for the concert. There is a possibility that attenders prefer to participate in cheaper concerts. Alongside that, what if the population diminish after a year? In fact, reduction of population will put their future market in trouble, which could not be profitable for the symphony.

Finally, as set forth by the author the next year budget should be eliminated for the symphony. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to an unsettled question if eliminate budget patronize development of symphony. One point that should not go unnoticed is that improvement of the symphony depends on different factors like people who works in the symphony, their fame and so forth. Perhaps eliminate budget run symphony into a huge problem or perhaps employees lose their incentive. As a matter of fact, this budget allocation could guarantee symphony's success.

Having scrutinized all the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there is some question, having been ignored by the author while the answer of which could add to the logic of each premise.