"Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora's citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora's citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year's unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While the author concludes that decline in fitness levels od Corpora's citizens is due to declined economy of the state, the argument is filled with lots of unstated assumptions. The author of the statement states that Medical Survey found that there was significant decrease in the number of people who satisfies fitness level when compared to the state two years ago. However, many questions are left unanswered with respect to survey. Questions may include, how many citizens are taken into account while surveying? What is the majority age group of the surveyed people? Since there is a chance for increased number of old people when considered twenty years ago.

In addition, it is unstated that what tests are included in conducting the medical survey. How many attributes are included to conclude that person is fit and what are the criteria set by the medical experts to declare a person as fit are unknown. On the contrary, the argument states that the medical survey was mistaken while considering the factor of computer-usage in Corpora. But, this statement is based on the medical survey which doesn't have sufficient information to arrive at this conclusion. Moreover, it is mentioned that the conclusion is wrong since the number of computer owners were also high during the period when fitness level was also high. But on the either way, this statement is also obscure since the ratio of number of computer owners to the total population is still an unknown factor.

Also, the author suggests that decrease in economy would be the reason behind decreased fitness level. However, this statement poses a new argument whether the survey which is taken now and the one which was taken before twenty years has included the low-level and middle-level families. If yes, the proportion of the affluent versus middle class families are left unmentioned.

Although the author states the low expenditure on fitness-related products and services as a reason, there are some additional accountable reasons behind the decrease in fitness level such as climatic change, change in food cycle and the probability of people prone to diseases. Hence, the conclusion cannot be completely backed up on the reasons and assumptions author made since there are other valid reasons for the decrease in fitness-level of Corpora's people.