The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

What the most effective approach to understand contemporary culture in society? Someone claims that researchers should resort to the youth. From my perspective, it is undeniably true that the youth epitomize the trend for certain irreplaceable components of contemporary culture. However, this doesn't means that such strategy could always works effectively as expected. Furthermore, a more systematic methodology should be formulated to decide what and how to perceive cultures in society.

Before going further, it is necessary to clarify with the definition of culture in advance. Contemporary culture often refers to common themes or beliefs during the present time. In most case, they are closely associated with certain groups, whose participants initially coin, further develop and descend to the successors. With this brief clarification, we can continue with our discussion about how to effectively evaluate them.

To start off, if we want to quickly grasp with characteristic of certain popular trend, we should with no hesitation pore over the youth group, as they are more likely to represent the trend for popular culture. On one hand, teenagers are so vigorous, innovative that great ideas are more likely to spring from them. That is to say, what they are engaging might become social trend in future. Even if such predilection seems insular or peculiar to some extent, advocating more participants in youth and continuing to propagate in larger groups could generate more impact later. On the contrary, customs in the elder are more disposed to reduce impacts, especially when conservation and inheritance couldn't be guaranteed. For example, the emergence of social media, such as Facebook, WhatsApp and Webchat, burgeon from the youth and gradually involved for a boarder audience.

Furthermore, tenable as this issue hold in most case that investigation for the youth could enable us to capture with overall understanding of popular trend, I contended that it doesn’t work for all of cases, since cultures might encompass diverse categories besides the youth. In this place, the youth might not be willing to enjoin with some cultures, especially the archaic ones, therefore sticking to take them as major responder seems unreasonable. Additionally, by taking the youth as major benchmark for contemporary culture, the author assumes that age plays a significant role in culture and the youth is the most important component in relation to age. But cultures, like literature, politic, are likely to be untrammeled and even reverse with age. For example, Kunqu opera occupies a significant position in Chinese contemporary culture. But current teenagers prefer to popular music rather than this traditional comedy. Can certain research of Kunqu operas still stick to the youth? Perhaps not.

Last but not least, the real challenge lies on how to figure out a systematic way for effective evaluation of researched culture. Of course, this is not a simple question that can be covered in such a short response. However, a brief summarization could shred lights for further work. The first question is to answer what culture for the target research. The ensuing question is what major participants of such culture and how those are subject to impact of different factors, such as age, geography, and so on. Last, we need to consider if participants keep stable as time evolves. It is only through such comprehensive investigation that we can estimate whether endeavors to research on such participants will be effective. Expanding our Kunqu opera case. If we understand that fans of Kunqu operas come from Nanjing, Suzhou in Southern part of China, and majority of them possess higher academic degree, it is judicious to launch further campaign for background analysis in universities located in Nanjing and Suzhou. Without such clear premeditation, we can guarantee neither accuracy nor effectiveness of our research work.

In summary, it is beneficial to research for the youth in order to get a brief picture for popular trend. However, as discussed above, not all of category of contemporary cultures are effectively subject to this approach. Therefore, before hastily taking action, it is necessary to deliberate our target research culture in a methodical way to guarantee the ultimate efficacy.